Axel E. Fischer

Chairman of the EPP-CD Group

Axel E. Fischer was born on 5th May 1966 in Karlsruhe (Germany). He is married and has six children and lives in Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen in the county of Karlsruhe. Obtaining his school-leaving certificate at the age of 16,  he trained as an electrician and completed his military service as an officer of the reserve. Subsequently, he studied at the University of Karlsruhe and graduated in mechanical engineering.

Professional life

Axel E. Fischer was researcher at the Institute for Ergonomics and Business Organisation (ifab) of the University of Karlsruhe. He is member of various social organisations, among others President of the district committee of North Baden of the German War Graves Commission and President of the German chapter of the World League for Freedom and Democracy (WLFD). His political career started as member of the CDU youth organisation of Baden-Württemberg (1989) and member of its executive committee of the North Baden district. In the 1990s, he was secretary and press officer of the Karlsruhe county CDU and member of the North Baden district executive committee. Since 1998, he is member of the Deutscher Bundestag for the district of Karlsruhe county, winning 53,3% of votes in the last elections. Having been member of the Committee for Education and Research (1998-2009), he is member of the CDU executive committee in the Bundestag, member of the Budget Committee and deputy member of the Committee for Foreign Affairs and of the Europe Committee of the Bundestag. From 2010 to 2013, he was also chairperson of the Enquête Commission on “Internet and digital society”. He was a member of the German delegation in the European Security and Defence Assembly/Assembly of WEU  since 2006 and is now Vice-President of the European Security and Defense Association (ESDA).

At the Council of Europe

Member of the German Delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe since 2006, Axel E. Fischer is Head of the Delegation since 2014, having been member of the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media and the Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development, where he was chair of the Sub-Committee for the Europe Prize, as well as the Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee). He was elected chairman of the Group of the European People’s Party (EPP/CD) in the Assembly in January 2016.


  • Search the site


    Office/Bureau: 5139
    Tel: + 33 3 88 41 26 76
    Fax: + 33 3 88 41 27 69

    Palais bureau 5145
    Council of Europe
    F - 67075 Strasbourg

  • Contact